August 29, 2018

By Lindy Earl

. . . fresh air, right?  Don’t we all love a breath of fresh air? In the summer, it’s a cool breeze.  In the winter, it’s an invigorating breath.

Some people, by their very nature, are a breath of fresh air.  Are you?  Me? I’m not.

Some people offer a serenity when they enter a room.  There is a calmness about them.  Their voice, their mannerisms, their very being just lets you know that everything is okay and will remain okay.

I was so happy when I called my Credit Union today with a credit card question.  As soon as Tim (that’s really his name), answered and in a low and calm voice asked how he could help me, I just knew it was all going to be okay.  And it is!  How did this gentleman convey warmth and serenity in just a few words?

I don’t do that.  I bring energy into a room!  I’m too shy to bring the party with me, but I can get people talking and increase the energy.  When it’s my turn to be the emcee, I can have people participating and laughing.  I do not offer a calming effect.

Sadly, some people bring sadness.  It doesn’t matter if they are social media friends or from your childhood, when you see them, you just know that some sad story is waiting to be told.  I wonder if, as they share their troubles, they keep track of whom they’ve told, to squeeze every drop of sympathy from every person they know.

In reverse, there are people who spread happiness.  I don’t mean my type of energy, I mean the people who just remind you that life is good.  They just exude happiness. How do they do that?!  Are they really that happy all the time, or do they crash at the end of the day, having used their allotment?  I think they are, internally, incredibly happy people and they can’t contain the amount of joy they possess.  Thus it leaks out on the others who are lucky enough to be around them.

There are some who simply sap your strength, just by being near you.  The sad people above may do that.  Lethargic people do it as well.  They are just always tired – not enough sleep, too much to do, underpaid and overwhelmed.  You leave these people feeling exhausted, yet you were fine at the beginning of the conversation.

There are thinkers out there.  When you chat, it seems that they always have something serious on their mind.  This can either make you wonder what you’re missing or encourage you to be a deeper thinker.  I have clients who instill new ideas in me as we work together.  While it’s my job to help them, they get me thinking as well.  Sometimes they are so good at what they do that I have to think harder just to stay ahead.  That’s a good thing!  I love it.

Of course, a person could have several of these abilities.  They breeze in with happiness. When you ask why they are so happy, they tell you. That leaves you thinking, in a positive way.

Work to be a breath of something positive.  Whether you offer serenity or kindness or another attribute not discussed here, choose what you want to offer the world, and what you can do to leave people a little better off, just for having spent time with you.

Lindy is a Business Consultant and Speaker to individuals of all levels and for companies, churches, and organizations of all sizes.  In addition, she is an author and columnist.  Contact her at LMEarl@EarlMarketing.com to speak to your corporation or organization.